Roasted Radishes with a Lemon Dill Yogurt Dip

3 Apr

Roasted Radishes with Lemon Dill Yogurt Dip

I am elated to proclaim that spring is in the air and certainly in the grocery stores. The sight of pristine asparagus, bok choy, young green peas and radishes facilitates my shaking out off the winter blues and euphorically embracing  this new season.

I trot into this season with a novel discovery – roasted radishes! I grew up eating plenty of radishes, but they were always pickled or just served with salt and lemon juice.  I had never dreamt of cooking radishes, let alone roasting them until I recently stumbled upon a plethora of roasted radish recipes. I roasted up my first bunch of radishes and was amazed how roasting mellows the peppery flavor of the radish and transforms in into a whole new root vegetable. radish

After several radish roasting experiments I swear by Running to the Kitchen’s Salted Rosemary Radishes recipe and pair it with my light and fragrant Lemon Dill Yogurt Dip. The roasted radishes look and feel very similar to roasted baby potatoes, which makes this an ideal side substitute for the potatoes in any classic meat and potatoes meal. The roasted radishes along with the dipping sauce can also be served as a magnificent hors d’oeuvre. The optional drizzle of honey gives these roasted radishes an extra oomph and works harmoniously with the savory, lemony and creamy dipping sauce.  Now go ahead and amaze your senses with this recipe.

Roasted Radishes with a Lemon Dill Yogurt Dip
Recipe Adapted from Running to the Kithchen’s Salted Rosemary Roasted Radishes
Yield: 2 cups of radishes & ¼ cup of dip
Time: Active 10 minutes   Inactive 40 minutes
Ingredients:
Roasted Radishes Ingredients:
2 cups radishes, cleaned a trimmed, half larger ones
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon fresh rosemary, minced
Kosher salt to taste
Freshly cracked black pepper to taste
½ -1 teaspoon good quality honey for drizzling (optional)
Lemon-Dill  Yogurt Dip Ingredients:
¼ cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt
3/4 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
¼ teaspoon lemon zest
2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 ½ teaspoons fresh dill, minced
¼ teaspoon kosher salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper

Method:
1) Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F (220 C). Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and set aside.
2) In a medium bowl toss the radishes with the olive oil, rosemary, salt and pepper, until they are evenly coated.
3) Transfer radishes to the baking sheet and roast for 30-40 minutes. Turn the radishes once or twice in the middle to ensure that they cook evenly without burning.
4) While the radishes are roasting make the dip. In a small bowl mix together all the ingredients of the dip. Taste and adjust the salt and pepper or lemon juice according to your taste.
5) When the radishes are cooked, drizzle them with the honey (if using it). Serve warm along with the dip.

18 Responses to “Roasted Radishes with a Lemon Dill Yogurt Dip”

  1. Eva Taylor April 3, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

    What an excellent idea! I’ve seen them around but haven’t tried them; how do they taste? Are they sweet? Do they get soft or retain their crunch?

    • neharmorarji April 16, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

      They are slightly sweet (lose their peppery flavor). They also get a little soft.

  2. moveeatcreate April 3, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

    I’ve been seeing roasted radishes everywhere! I’ve never eaten radishes prepared that way. I must try it soon!

    • neharmorarji April 16, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

      Do try it, it’s amazing how roasting transforms the radishes.

  3. Zest April 4, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    I’ve never thought of roasting radishes! 🙂

    • neharmorarji April 16, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

      I hadn’t until very recently..and it changed my life! 😉

  4. ginapoet April 5, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    That looks marvelous!!

  5. liveblissful April 9, 2013 at 5:28 am #

    I never knew you could roast radishes, thanks for sharing!

    • neharmorarji April 16, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

      Hope you get to try roasted radishes soon!

  6. foxywholefoodie April 29, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    These look delicious! I’ve never thought of roasting radishes either – but my radishes will not longer be relegated to the crudité plate! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  7. healthy body April 30, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    What’s up, constantly i used to check webpage posts here in the early hours in the daylight, because i love to learn more and more.

  8. Mariano May 15, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    Thanks for some other wonderful post. The place else
    may just anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal way of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I am at the search for such info.

  9. this site May 18, 2013 at 7:34 am #

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal. I must say that you’ve
    done a awesome job with this. Also, the blog loads
    super fast for me on Opera. Excellent Blog!

  10. http://collagetho.blogspot.com May 20, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

  11. http://sideshowfreaks.Blogspot.com May 26, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

    Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed
    in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

  12. Relationships For Dummies May 27, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really
    nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future. Many thanks

  13. i want to find love June 2, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    Howdy I am so grateful I found your blog page,
    I really found you by error, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like
    to say cheers for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

